'Magika' voted best film 23rd Film Festival

“Magika” directed by Edry Abdul Halim and produced by KRU Studio Sdn Bhd was voted the best film at the 23rd Malaysian Film Festival here tonight.

KRU Studio took home the winner’s prize of RM50,000 and trophy which was presented by Information Communication and Culture Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim at the Shah Alam Convention Centre here.

Popular filmaker Datuk Yusof Haslam’s son Syamsul was voted the best director. He won the accolade for his directorial debut of the film Evolusi KL Drift 2.

Syamsul took home a trophy and RM20,000. The Best Actor award went to Bront Palarae for his role in “Belukar” while Lisa Surihani won the Best Actress Award. Both of them took home RM15,000 and a trophy each.

Other awards:

Best Cinematography – Raja Mukhriz Raja Ahmad (Niyang Rapik)

Best Screenplay – Jumaatun Azmi  (Haq),

Best Original Story – Ahadiat Akashah(  Lagenda Budak Setan),

Best Editing – Hisham Jupri and Syamsul Yusof (Evolusi KL Drift 2).

Best Musical Score – Edry Abdul Halim (Magika)

Best Documentary – “Suatu Ketika:  Laskar Senoi”,

Best Animation –  “Buas”

Best Short Film- “Projek Genex”.

Special jury award for behind the scenes work – Johari Ibrahim*

* Johari used to work with Malaysian film legend the late Tan Sri P. Ramlee

Special jury award for veteran actress – Datuk Sarimah Ahmad

Special jury award for veteran actor – Tamam Idris.

Box Office Hit Award – Adnan Sempit (Directed by Ahmad Idham, produced by

MIG Production Sdn Bhd).

Four films also received special jury awards namely Cinta Ais  Kacang, Woo  Hoo, Estet and Muallaf.

The late Datuk Ahmad Mahmood, who died in 2008, was announced as the winner of the “Seniman Dalam Kenangan” award.

Also present at the awards presentation were Senator Tan Sri Jins Shamsuddin, Rais’ wife Datin Seri Masnah Rais and FINAS director-general Mohd Mahyidin Mustakim.