Staying updated through social media

INSTANT and brief are the characteristics of Twitter that help push news dissemination to greater heights.

With a word limit of 140 characters, a Twitter user (known as “Twitterer”) shares messages (“tweets”) with his or her subscribers, or “followers”.

Convenient wireless Internet connections also make it easier for people to receive updates on their mobile phones or other devices on the go.

Recently, various organisations and companies, be it governmental or non-governmental, have jumped on the bandwagon to distribute information through Twitter (http://www.twitter.com/) not forgetting politicians, too, who tweet about their schedules and thoughts.

Puspel
@puspel provides information on water disruptions in the Klang Valley.

RapidKL
@MyRapidKL provides service statuses on RapidKL buses, LRT and Monorail.

Tourism Ministry
@TourismMalaysia and @virtualmalaysia promotes Malaysia and recommends sights seeing spots

Tourism Selangor
@TourismSelangor announces events organised by the state government.

#klrb or #kltraffic on Twitter to get a stream of live tweets on traffic conditions.

@KLroadblock is “your friendly informant around and about on the streets of KL”.

MPs and Assemblymen
Petaling Jaya Utara MP Tony Pua (@tonypua)
Batu MP Tian Chua (@tianchua)
Kapar MP S. Manikavasagam (@mpkapar)
Gombak MP-cum-Bukit Antarabangsa assemblyman Azmin Ali (@azminali)
Sungai Pinang assemblyman cum Selangor State Legislative Assembly Speaker Teng Chang Khim (@tengchangkhim)
Seri Andalas assemblyman Dr Xavier Jayakumar (@xavierjayakumar)
Bukit Lanjan assemblyman Elizabeth Wong (@elizabethwong)
Seri Setia assemblyman Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad (@niknazmi)
Subang Jaya assemblyman Hannah Yeoh (@hannahyeoh).

read more here