MPSJ councillor lineup: Theresa dropped, Hannah aide appointed

The new lineup of MPSJ councillors sees a significant change in NGO candidates as three out of six of them were replaced by new faces, Theresa Ratnam Thong among them.

Robiah Omar of All Women’s Action Society (Awam) was also dropped while Chang Kim Loong of the House Buyers Association had earlier tendered his resignation.

Theresa is a councillor who has been attentive to various local concerns including high-profile cases such as the contentious Subang Ria Park land conversion and the USJ 6 utility land tussle.

The chairman for the JKP Zone 1 has served two terms since 2008.

With the elimination, her appearance at the SS17 dialogue  with Hannah last week would be her last work.

Meanwhile, Edward Ling, the political secretary of Subang assemblyperson Hannah Yeoh, is now a policymaker.

Edward came in after his colleague Chia Yew Ken, who is also Hannah’s aide, resigned during the last MPSJ full board meeting.

The other new faces include Noor Azam Ismail, acting chairman of Puchong PKR, Azizan Jamaluddin, Kelana Jaya PKR women chief,  Jaberi bin Ami and Loka Ng Sai Kai of Subang Jaya Buddhist Association.

Edward and Azizan are among the new faces

DAP councillors retained include Rajiv Rishyakaran, Pooi Weng Keong, Tai Cheng Heng, Robert Tan, Stephen Chin, Chong Hoon Ming and Ng Sze Han.

PKR’s policymakers are Sufari bin Tinnin, Ismail Kamal, Norhesni Ismail, Cheah Sang Soon, Keshminder Singh, Nor Azam, Azizan Jamaluddin and Michael Tamilarason.

PAS has Roslan Shahir bin Datuk Mohd Shahir, Mohd Nasir bin Yusoff and Sapiyan bin Mohd Din in the name list.

The lineup for all 12 local councils in Selangor were announced by the Menteri Besar yesterday after presenting awards for the top council in the Clean Zone Program.